Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
MPCA Staff
Share |
MPCA staff members are listed by functional role within the following categories:

Executive Staff


Loretta V. Bush, MSHA, Chief Executive Officer

lbush@mpca.net  |  517.381.8001 (direct line) |  517.381.8000 x1001

  • Advocacy and legislative affairs 
  • Strategic planning 
  • Governance and bylaws 
  • Board and member relations 
  • Michigan Community Health Network relations 
   

Dan Thompson, Chief Operating Officer
dthompson@mpca.net  |  517.827.0886 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1886

  • Provides operational leadership of the organization
  • Develops and oversees strategic direction and partnerships
  • Provides leadership to numerous programs and teams

 

   

Matt Herwaldt, CMAChief Financial Officer
mherwaldt@mpca.net  |  517.381.8003 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1003
  • Financial reporting
  • Accounting, finance, and budgeting
  • Contract administration
   

Nancy Sting, MSA, Human Resources Director

nsting@mpca.net  |  517.381.8004 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1004

  • Human resources administration
  • Recruiting for MPCA positions
  • Training and development
   
  Amber Desgranges, Administrative Deputy

adesgranges@mpca.net  |  517.381.8000

  • Provides technical and administrative support to the CEO.
  • Serves as an expert on the Payment Reform Workgroup.


Clinical Quality

Faiyaz Syed, MD, MPH, Chief Medical Officer

fsyed@mpca.net  |  517.827.0887 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1887

  • Michigan Quality Improvement Network technical assistance
  • Assisting Health Centers in process improvement and Lean transformation
  • Meaningful Use
   

Debra KristyHealth Information Technology Specialist

dkristy@mpca.net |  517.827.0476 (direct line) |  517.381.8000 x 1476

  • Provides assistance to Health Centers in the areas of Electronic Health Record optimization, Meaningful Use, Health Information Exchanges and interoperability efforts.
   

Lauryn Muma, MPH, Program Coordinator

lmuma@mpca.net |  517.381.0467 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1467

  • Michigan Quality Improvement Network Coordinator
  • Provides support related to programmatic reporting and monitoring
  • Provides programmatic support to enhance and aid in the implementation of training and technical assistance to Michigan Health Centers. 
   
 

Integrated Health and Programs

Sara Coates, MADirector, Integrated Health and Programs
scoates@mpca.net | 517.827.0875 (direct line) |  517.381.8000 x1875
  • Focuses on behavioral health integration, working with migrant farmworkers access to health care, and health care for the homeless
  • Helps Health Center staff commit to practice transformation
  • Works with key community partners to maximize resources 
   
 

Jessica Bautista, MSW, Program Consultant, Health Homes

jbautista@mpca.net | 517.827.0872 (direct line) | 517.381.8000 x1872

  • Manages Health Homes
  • Supports MI Care Team staff to optimize Health Homes activities
  • Supports practice transformation through an integrated care team approach
   

Smriti “Simmi” D. Isaac, MA, MHA, PCMH CCE, Integrated Health and Quality Program Manager
sisaac@mpca.net | 517.827.0471 (direct line) | 517.381.8000  x1471

  • QI Directors Network facilitation
  • Patient-Centered Medical Home practice transformation strategies
  • Training and technical assistance to improve clinical and operational quality, reduce health disparities, and improve population health through health information technology.
   
Nina Lavi, MPH, Integrated Health Specialist

nlavi@mpca.net |  517.381.8000  |  

  • Special populations including migrant, homeless and veterans.
  • Community Health Worker Cancer Project - colorectal, breast and cervical cancer
   

Lindsay Sailor, Integrated Health Program Manager
lsailor@mpca.net | 517.827.0889 (direct line) |  517.381.8000 x1889

 

  • Maternal, child and infant health
  • Pharmacy services support
  • Oral health
 
 

 

 Policy & Grassroots Advocacy
   

J. Ryan Grinnell-Ackerman, MPA, Government Affairs Manager

rgrinnell@mpca.net  |  517.827.0884 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1884

  • Health policy analysis and government affairs support  
 

 

 Membership Services
Tom Kochheiser, CAE, Director of Member Services
tkochheiser@mpca.net | 517.827.0873 (direct line) 
  • Responsible for management of all membership activities including board and membership meetings
  • Strategic planning for membership and sponsorship growth
  • Leads Membership Services Team  


   
  Jen Anderson, Communications Manager
janderson@mpca.net | 517.827.0473 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1473
  • Oversees internal and external communications
  • Functions as an association-wide resource for style, branding, and language
  • Provides advocacy support and strategic communications
  • Coordinates design and production for printed materials
  • Updates Health Center Communications network
  • Manages social media
   

Derek Commey, Training and Education Coordinator
dcommey@mpca.net | 517.827.0871 (direct line) 

  • Training, conference, and event coordination and registration
  • Webinar coordination, hosting, and registration

 


 

Barbara Lincoln, Training & Education Manager
blincoln@mpca.net  | 517.853.1062 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1062

  • Training, conference, and event planning
  • Webinar hosting
 


 

Health Center Operations & Enabling Services

Julie Tatko, MSW, Director of Operations & Enabling Services

jtatko@mpca.net  |  517.827.0882 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1882

  • Develops and implements programs focused on finance, billing, and operations, as well as workforce and community development
  • Directs Linking Clinical Care with Community Supports (Linkages), MPCA's Michigan Health Endowment Fund initiative
  • Finance, Billing, and Operations Networks liaison
 
  Deidre Hurse, Associate Director, Enabling Services

dhurse@mpca.net  |  517.827.0465 (direct line) |  517.381.8000 x1465

  • Directs MPCA's health center training and technical assistance programs connecting to enabling services
  • Manages programs, contracts, and grants related to enabling services
  • Engages in state and federal partnerships to advance the mission, vision, and services of MPCA and health centers
   

 

Brittani Barkley, Enabling Services Outreach Specialist
bbarkley@mpca.net  |  517.827.0888 (direct line) |  517.381.8000 x1888

  • Provides program support to Michigan Health Centers participating in the Linkages program
  • Community Health Worker Network Liaison
   

Nashia A. Choudhury, MPH, Health Center Growth Specialist
nchoudhury@mpca.net  |  517.827.0475 (direct line)  | 517.381.8000 x1873 

  • Specialized proactive supports for new Health Center organizations
  • Coordinating MPCA's community development and strategic growth activities
  • Supporting Health Center capital development

 

Charmaine Femster, Billing and Operations Specialist
cfemster@mpca.net | 517.827.0878 (direct line) | 517.381.8000 x1878

  • Serves as association expert on medical coding and billing
  • Provides training and technical assistance for health center operations
  • Helps resolve billing issues by providing proactive and responsive technical support and training for health centers
   
Crystal S. Korpi, Workforce Development Specialist

ckorpi@mpca.net  |  517.827.0876 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1876 

  • Provides training and technical assistance for workforce development to Michigan Health Centers
  • Training for Community Health Workers in integrated care teams
  • Human Resources Network liaison
   
Jaspreet Malhotra, MPH, Enabling Services Manager

jmalhotra@mpca.net  |   517.827.0877 (direct line) |  517.381.8000 x1877

  • Provides training and technical assistance around health insurance coverage enrollment, community, outreach, patient and community education, translation and interpretation and health navigation/coordination
  • Supports maternal and child health program expansion, model transformation and quality improvement 
  • Outreach and Enrollment Network liaison
   
Lindsey Naeyaert, MPH, Clinical Specialist

lnaeyaert@mpca.net  |  517.827.0874   |  517.381.8000 x1874

  • Provides technical assistance to Michigan Health Centers in emergency management, LGBTQ Health and HIV
  • Provide support related to programmatic reporting and monitoring
 

Health Information Technology and Data Services

Rob Pazdan, MBA, Director of Information Systems
rpazdan@mpca.net  |  517.827.0481 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1481
  • Strategic and tactical planning, development, evaluation, coordination of MPCA's information and technology systems, including VirtualCHC
  • Health Information Technology coordination with the Michigan Quality Improvement Network (MQIN)
   
  Dustin Barber, System Administrator I

dbarber@virtualchc.net  |  517.827.0483 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1483

  • Systems and network administration
  • System monitoring
  • Customer support
   
  Daniel Dawkins, Help Desk Coordinator
ddawkins@mpca.net  | 517.827.0488 (direct line) | 517.381.8000 x1488
  • Help desk support
  • Customer support
  • Support to System Administration team
   
Michael Gleason, System Administrator II
mgleason@mpca.net  |  517.827.0482 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1482
  • New system design
  • Systems and network administration and monitoring
  • Customer support
   

D. Eric Kemp, Manager of Information Systems

ekemp@virtualchc.net  |  517.827.0486 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1486

  • Coordination of IT team
  • System and network administration
  • Customer service

 

   
 

Cheryl Gildner, Clinical Data Manager

cgildner@mpca.net | 517.827.0870 (direct line) | 517.381.8000 x1870

  • Manages statewide integrated data system
  • Provides direction and daily management of MPCA's data assets
   
 

Hannah McKone, Program Specialist, Data Services
hmckone@mpca.net  |   517.827.0480 (direct line) |  517.381.8000 x1480

  • Supports the health professional shortage designation (HPSA) process
   
  Colin VanDusen, System Administrator I

cvandusen@virtualchc.net  |  517.827.0487 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1487

  • Systems and network administration
  • System monitoring
  • Customer support
   
 

MPCA Finance & Operations


Matt Herwaldt, CMAChief Financial Officer
mherwaldt@mpca.net  |  517.381.8003 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1003
  • Financial reporting
  • Accounting, finance, and budgeting
  • Contract administration
   

Katie Nearpass, Accounting Assistant
knearpass@mpca.net  |  517.827.2478 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1478

  • Accounting
  • Payables/Recievables
   
Erin Rogers, Office Administrator
erogers@mpca.net  |  517.827.0469 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1469
  • Office operations
  • Building maintenance oversight
  • Program support
   
Kristin Seyfert, Administrative Assistant
kseyfert@mpca.net  |  517.381.8000 (direct line)  
  • First point-of-contact with visitors and callers
  • Providing support to the Chief Executive Officer and MPCA staff



Kelli Rockwell, Accounting & Contract Specialist

krockwell@mpca.net  |  517.827.0881 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1881

  • Contract processing and tracking
  • Accounts receivable
  • Collections
   

Julie Tatko, MSW, Enabling Services Director

jtatko@mpca.net  |  517.827.0882 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1882

  • Developing and implementing programs focused on health insurance coverage enrollment, community outreach, patient and community education, translation and interpretation and health navigation/coordination
  • Promoting and supporting community-based service linkages
  • Directing MPCA’s Expanding Enrollment Capacity in Michigan Certified Application Counselor program
Lydia Starrs, MSW, Enabling Services Specialist

lstarrs@mpca.net  |  517.827.0886 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1886

  • Providing training and technical assistance around health insurance coverage enrollment and other enabling services
  • Developing and maintaining resources, communications, and alerts
  • Outreach and Enrollment Network liaison
Lydia Starrs, MSW, Enabling Services Specialist

lstarrs@mpca.net  |  517.827.0886 (direct line)  |  517.381.8000 x1886

  • Providing training and technical assistance around health insurance coverage enrollment and other enabling services
  • Developing and maintaining resources, communications, and alerts
  • Outreach and Enrollment Network liaison

Joyce GriffithOutreach & Enrollment Coordinator

jgriffith@mpca.net  |  269.235.9667 (direct line)

  • Providing outreach opportunities for community residents who lack access to health care
  • Offering health insurance application assistance and enrollment for the Health Insurance Marketplace, Medicaid, and MIChild
  • Building and strengthening enrollment collaborations with local partner organizations in Southwest Michigan 

Joyce GriffithOutreach & Enrollment Coordinator

jgriffith@mpca.net  |  269.235.9667 (direct line)

  • Providing outreach opportunities for community residents who lack access to health care
  • Offering health insurance application assistance and enrollment for the Health Insurance Marketplace, Medicaid, and MIChild
  • Building and strengthening enrollment collaborations with local partner organizations in Southwest Michigan 
Jason Johnson, Outreach & Enrollment Coordinator
jjohnson2@mpca.net  |   989.312.3905
·        Providing outreach opportunities for community residents who lack access to health care
·        Offering health insurance application assistance and enrollment for the Health Insurance Marketplace, Medicaid, an
 
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal